Book Review, mystery, thriller

All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham ~ Book Review

Thriller
My Rating: 🍪🍪🍪

After Isabelle’s son, Mason, disappeared from his room in the middle of the night, she stopped sleeping. A year later, Isabelle, who has separated from her husband, speaks at true crime conventions, desperate for any leads on the case.

The present narrative is interspersed with flashbacks to Isabelle’s childhood growing up with her sister Margaret. It becomes clear that there is something dark in Isabelle’s past, but it took a long time for any connection between past and present to become clear and I found the sections in Isabelle’s childhood to be slow.

I was not satisfied with how this one ended. There were a lot of red herrings along the way and I didn’t think there was enough in place to make the ultimate culprit seem believable. I was definitely surprised a number of times along the way, and intrigued to see how things would unfold, but it wasn’t particularly shocking in a way that made me look back on the book in a different light, which is how I measure a really good thriller.

Check out my bookstagram: @Treat.your.shelf
Buy All the Dangerous Things at an indie bookstore near you
All the Dangerous Things on Goodreads

Leave a comment