Book Review, Romance

The Second Chance Year by Melissa Wiesner ~ Book Review

My Rating: 🍪🍪🍪
Genre: Romance
Read if you liked: The Good Part

I saw this book compared to Josie Silver and Rebecca Serle and that perhaps set my expectations too high. Sadie’s life feels like it’s falling apart. She’s lost her job, her boyfriend, and her apartment and finds herself crashing in the spare bedroom of her brother’s childhood friend. With nothing to lose, she makes a wish to redo the last year of her life and low and behold, her wish is granted.

In an attempt to keep the “bad” things from happening to her all over again, Sadie finds herself censoring her words and actions and trying to fit into a mold she thinks will get her where she wants to go. I found this conceptually interesting, but it quickly felt repetitive and made me frustrated with her as a character.

The secondary characters in Sadie’s life were really lovely and interesting and the found-family she created around her ultimately helped her to figure out what was most important to her. I appreciated the way this journey helped Sadie to find herself and thought the premise was an interesting way to approach it (albeit, not a unique one).

Check out my bookstagram: @Treat.your.shelf
Buy The Second Chance Year at an indie bookstore near you
The Second-Chance Year on Goodreads

Leave a comment