Book Review, thriller

The Senator’s Wife by Liv Constantine ~ Book Review

Thriller
My Rating: 🍪

When Sloane and Whit tragically lose their spouses, they find themselves turning to each other for comfort. Although they’ve long been friends, they never expected to become romantically involved, but years later they are married. Sloane is struggling with Lupus and they decide to hire a home health aid, Athena, to help her out physically and with her work. Soon however, Sloane begins to question Athena’s true motives.

Okay, I loved previous books by Liv Constantine, but the writing style in this one KILLED me. There was so much telling rather than showing and certain characters’ supposed secrets or guilt were ‘hinted’ at so many times that it was painful to keep reading over and over again. This kind of insistence did not feel organic and made it nearly impossible for me to become immersed in the story. I also found all of the characters fairly shallow and unlikable and overall just could not get invested in their lives.

Check out my bookstagram: @Treat.your.shelf
Buy The Senator’s Wife at an indie bookstore near you
The Senator’s Wife on Goodreads

Leave a comment