Book Review, Fiction, Romance

Funny Story by Emily Henry ~ Book Review

My Rating: 🍪🍪🍪.5
Genre: Romance

It’s taken me a few weeks to get to writing this review (life has been a lot lately) and I’ve somehow managed to forget almost this entire book, which says a lot about my thoughts on it. Daphne’s life is upended when her fiance Peter runs off with his childhood best friend, Petra, and Daphne moves in with Petra’s ex, Miles. Did you get all that? It’s a pretty standard set-up for a contemporary romance and you know exactly where it’s going from the jump.

As always, Henry does witty banter extremely well and I found myself charmed by Miles and Daphne’s dialogue much of the time. (Not so much when he was commenting on her moaning while enjoying food…why was that mentioned so much).

I found Daphne and Miles’s thoughts about their respective exes to be sometimes problematic. They clearly hadn’t had time to process what happened before they were falling for each other and it worried me from a logical perspective.

This was a solid romance, but ultimately nothing really stood out to me. It felt predictable and a bit uninspired. Definitely one of my bottom two Henry books.

Check out my bookstagram: @Treat.your.shelf
Buy Funny Story at an indie bookstore near you
Funny Story on Goodreads

Leave a comment