Book Review, Memoir, Nonfiction

Worthy by Jada Pinkett Smith ~ Book Review

My Rating: 🍪🍪.5
Genre: Memoir

When a memoir starts by recounting an experience with ayahuasca, you know you’re in for a wild ride. Jada Pinkett Smith’s memoir recounts her life, starting with drug dealing while growing up in Baltimore, through the present. Jada’s life is anything but conventional. She talks us through her marriage that’s not really a marriage with Will Smith, her journey with spirituality, and motherhood. I find it so odd that she and Will named their children after themselves, but it’s very telling of how she comes across in her memoir (in my opinion, very self absorbed without any reflection on her actions).

Jada’s life is such a far cry from mine and because of that I found much of it fascinating if hard to wrap my head around. She tells everything exactly as she experienced and understood it, again, with no self-reflection.

Between chapters, Jada often introduces therapy-esque exercises she encourages readers to participate in. Things like telling your friends you love them or reflecting on XYZ in your life. I found this so bizarre – she’s not a therapist and reading her story made me not ever want to take advice from her, so why was she qualifying herself to be preaching these exercises to readers? It was a majorrr turn off and made her come across to me as completely full of herself.

Check out my bookstagram: @Treat.your.shelf
Worthy on Goodreads
Buy Worthy at an indie bookstore near you

Leave a comment