Book Review, Fiction, mystery, thriller

A Flicker in the Dark by Stacy Willingham ~ Book Review

Minotaur Books
Thriller
My Rating: 🍪🍪🍪

I’m not sure why this book didn’t quite click for me. It has all the makings of a great thriller, with Chloe grappling with the impending 20th anniversary of when her father was convicted of a series of murders and sent to jail. When teenage girls begin to go missing again, Chloe has to face the fact that there may be a copycat killer on the loose.

From the beginning, Chloe voices how difficult romantic relationships have been for her given her family history. The framing is meant to make the reader automatically question her fiancé Daniel, and I felt like this was being forced too much throughout the book. There were twists that intrigued and surprised me, but the red herrings were frustrating.

The writing style was a little flowery for me and it seemed at odds with the tense content of the story. I would have preferred if it was more cut and dry so the action could unfold faster.

Overall, this was a fine thriller, but nothing earth-shattering.

Check out my bookstagram: @Treat.your.shelf
Buy A Flicker in the Dark at an indie bookstore near you
A Flicker in the Dark on Goodreads

Leave a comment